Tags

, , , ,

Apple Coffee cake

This is really more of a cross between banana bread and a coffee cake, but for the sake of a reasonable name – I’m just going with apple coffee cake. It’s so good that it actually got made 2 weekends in a row (in part because I has sent a mini loaf home with my older sister last weekend and my niece called me mid-week asking for more apple cake – I mean, how could I say no to that preciousness!). I feel like this should get extra props for tempting a picky toddler. I also really enjoyed it, and felt like I only had to feel moderately guilty about eating it because it has lots of fruit and whole grains.

The second time I made it I subbed in vanilla greek yogurt for the sour cream, cut back the sugar to ½ c and added a bit more apple – it was still delicious. You don’t really taste the oats or banana in there, but they’re in there making it healthier. I’ll have to remember this one for when our little one hits the picky toddler stage!

Apple Coffee cake

Apple Coffee Cake
2 ripe bananas
½ c sour cream (reduced fat)
1 egg
½ c milk
1 container (4 oz) unsweetened apple sauce
2 c whole wheat flour
2/3 c rolled oats
2/3 c packed brown sugar
2 tsp baking powder
2 tsp baking soda
1 tsp salt
1 tsp cinnamon
¼ tsp nutmeg
1 apple, cored and chopped

Filling/Topping
4 Tbs butter
1/3 – ½ c brown sugar
1 tsp cinnamon
½ tsp nutmeg
1/3 c pecans, chopped

Pre-heat the oven to 350ᵒ and grease pans – either 1 8×8 or 2 loaf pans.

In a large mixing bowl, mash the bananas. Mix in all ingredients, stirring until completely combined.

Pour half the batter into the bottom of your baking dish. Spread about 2/3 of the butter and sugar mixture evenly over the batter. Top with the remaining batter and then sugar mixture.

Bake for about 50 – 60 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.

20 slices: 1 slice (estimated) – 138 Calories, 5g Fat, 33g Carbs, 2g Fiber, 2g Protein, 14g Sugar

