Tags

, , , ,

My baby boy is perfection itself embodied in a tiny little person (who goes through an impressive number of diapers and outfits every day). We had some time home together as a family, which has been such a blessing and really helped us settle in. I am so excited about being a mom, even though it has certainly come with its own set of new challenges. Cooking is MUCH more difficult when your little is hungry every hour or so… and it has become even more interesting due to some dietary restrictions I’m observing to address some food allergies my little man seems to have.

NewbornBoyGarlicGoddess

At this point I’ve cut out all dairy, soy and eggs. At first it was just dairy, which I’ve done before, so it wasn’t THAT hard. But adding eggs and soy has been a bit limiting. Soy seems to be an additive used in EVERYTHING! And you really can’t bake without eggs… I mean, I really could use some cupcakes here people! But I’m adjusting (plus, it has the added benefit of helping me lose the baby weight I guess). Candidly, it has been a bit frustrating trying to figure out what all I can and can’t eat. Eating out is pretty much out right now because I’m so limited, and I hate being that person asking “do you know if xyz dish has dairy or soy in it?”

Thus, there has been more cooking going on at home. And with a newborn, the crockpot is definitely your friend! We really enjoyed this crockpot tomato sauce, and it fits into my diet! Now I made this before I had to cut out eggs – thus the homemade black pepper noodles it’s served over. Fortunately dry pasta is egg-free and I don’t have to give that up!

Crockpot Tomato Sauce

Crockpot Pasta Sauce
2 cans (28 oz each) crushed tomatoes, no salt added
1 sweet onion, chopped
6-8 cloves garlic, minced
2 sprigs rosemary, minced
1 bunch parsley, minced
1 bunch basil, minced
¼ c balsamic vinegar
Hardy dash black pepper, salt, and red pepper flakes
1 lb ground beef
6 oz baby portabella mushrooms, chunked

Combine everything except the ground beef and mushrooms in your crockpot and cook on low for 8 hours. Add the ground beef at 4 hours. Add the mushrooms with 1-2 hours left. Remove the lid and allow to cook uncovered if it’s a bit thin.

