Tags

, , , ,

Cinnamon Rasin Bread

I don’t know if it was just that they were trendy back in the 90’s or what, but both my hubs and my families had bread makers when we were kids. We recently snagged one of those bread makers from our parents and have been having a blast playing with it and making fresh bread. This is great for me, because I know exactly what’s going into it and done have to worry about scouring the ingredients list on the label for possible allergens for peanut-boy. Plus it removes what I don’t like about bread making – all the waiting and kneading! The process still takes a while (4 hours for most loaves) but since you can just add the ingredient and walk away… it seems much less tedious. And, when you have a one-month-old, tossing ingredients in and walking away makes life 1 zillion times easier.

My Breadmaker

This massive thing seems to have earned a permanent home on our counter.

Now, just about every recipe that came with our bread maker calls for a tablespoon or two of dry milk. Fortunately, it doesn’t seem to cause a problem to leave it out. So far we’ve made a basic wheat, jalapeno onion, rosemary garlic, lemon dill and cinnamon raisin. Of course, I’m never great about following recipes – and this has been no different. I do actually measure what I’m putting in there, which is not always the case when I’m cooking. Now I realize that most folks don’t have bread makers, but just in case you do – the cinnamon raisin was just too good not to share.

One more thing about making bread – it makes the house smell AMAZING!

Cinnamon Raisin Bread Maker Bread
¾ c + 2 TBS 80ᵒ water (I have yet to actually check my water temp, just use hot tap water)
1 TBS oil (I used olive)
¼ c brown sugar
1 tsp salt
(calls for 1 TBS dry milk, I omitted this)
1 ¼ c bread flour
1 c white wheat flour
2 tsp active dry yeast
______________________
½ tsp
½ c chopped pecans
½ c raisins

Add the ingredients to the bread maker in the order listed (everything above the line). Check your maker’s instructions and program for a sweet bread.

Add the ingredients below the line after the beep (once again, check your maker’s instructions, it may be different).

And that’s it! Your delicious bread is ready in a few hours!

