Tags

, ,

Baked Apple Pancake

Things have been a bit crazy in our household recently. We took peanut (our little boy!) in for his two month appointment recently and, much to my surprise, our pediatrician told me I could add eggs and soy back in and just stay off dairy. However, he also got his first round of shots at the appointment and was running a low-grade fever for 24 hours as a result. Plus the hubs has been dealing with a pretty miserable tension headache that he had a heck of a time kicking (I mean come on, why are you stressed, you only have a new baby interrupting your sleep and the craziness of quarter end to deal with). But, by Sunday everyone was feeling much better, including me since peanut had let me sleep for 7 hours straight.

Making the Baked Apple Pancake

So, I decided I was going to celebrate my return to eggs with a pancake! I wanted something fun, but also wanted to use up the last banana of the week and some of the apples we had (organic apples were on sale at Kroger for $4 for a bag!). I remembered this delicious looking apples thing from Dinners, Drive-Ins, and Dives the other week and thought I’d try to create something similar. While I’m pretty sure this is vastly less sinful then the version I saw, it was still quite good. And I probably would make it with butter under normal circumstances, but the coconut oil was a great substitute.

I’m so glad to have some of my food restrictions lifted. It is making life so much easier and peanut is still doing really well, so apparently it was only dairy that was bothering him.

Baked Apple “Pancake”

Apples:
1 TBS coconut oil
3 small apples, sliced
2 TBS brown sugar
Dash cinnamon and nutmeg

Pancake:
1 very ripe banana, mashed
1 egg
¼ tsp nutmeg
½ tsp cinnamon
¼ tsp vanilla
½ c flour
1/3 c + 2 TBS milk (Almond milk in my case)
1/3 c oats
¼ tsp salt
½ tsp baking soda
¼ c pecans, chopped

Pre-heat oven to 425ᵒ.

Heat the coconut oil in a medium cast iron skillet (8”-9”) over medium heat. Once it’s melted, added the apples. Cook, stirring occasionally for about 5 minutes. Add the sugar and spices and cook for another 2-3 minutes. Remove from heat and set aside.

In a mixing bowl, whip together the banana and egg. Add the nutmeg, cinnamon and vanilla and mix well. Stir in all remaining ingredients, except the nuts. Sprinkle the nuts over the apples, then pour the batter over top. Bake for 16 – 20 minutes, or until top is browned.

2-3 servings: 1 serving (estimated) – 321 Calories, 14g Fat, 47g Carbs, 8g Fiber, 7g Protein, 21g Sugar

