Tags

, , , ,

Peach Blueberry Cobbler

My father has always been a big fruit pie fan, really a fan of pie in general. That was always the dessert he would request for his birthday, father’s day, etc. So, when we were celebrating Father’s day with my side of the family the other weekend and I was supposed to make dessert, I immediately thought pie. However, with an almost 3 month old (how is he growing so FAST!) I wasn’t ambitious enough to actually try to make a pie. I mean… it takes me forever to just manage to shower and do my hair. I’m not sure I could actually mix, roll out a crust, fill and bake a pie right now, without it taking like 2 days…

However, a cobbler sounded quite good and is so much less labor intensive. You still get all of the great summer fruit and a nice toasty top, just without all the rolling and crust crimping. Plus, I’ve been on a bit of an oats kick lately and this topping included those too. Best of all it goes together really quickly.

This bakes up with a nice, crispy crust and the peaches and blueberries cook together to create a wonderfully juicy filling. Really a lovely cobbler if i do say so myself. Fantastic with ice cream (or vanilla almond milk ice “cream’ if you’re like me), in fact, it disappeared so quickly I didn’t manage a picture of the cobbler in a bowl… woops!

Now, if you’re not avoiding dairy, I advise using softened butter in place of the coconut oil. But I’ve got to say, coconut oil is a darn good butter substitute.

Peach-Blueberry Cobbler
1 pint blueberries, rinsed
4 peaches, washed and sliced
1 Tbs flour
1 Tbs sugar
¾ c flour
¾ c oats
½ c brown sugar
½ c coconut oil
¾ c pecans
½ tsp cinnamon
¼ tsp ginger
½ tsp salt

Pre-heat oven to 350ᵒ.

Toss the blueberries and peaches with one tablespoon of sugar and one of flour. Pour into a large casserole dish.

In a medium bowl mix the remaining ingredients until well combined. Press over top of the fruit.

Bake for about 50 minutes, or until bubbly and brown.

Allow to cool for at least 10 minutes. Serve with ice cream (or Vanilla Almond ice “cream” if you’re dairy free!)

6 servings – 1 serving (estimated): 518 Calories, 30g Fat, 59g Carbs, 7g Fiber, 7g Protein, 38g Sugar

