Tags

, ,

Skillet Corn

I love fresh summer corn. In fact, it ranks up there on my list of favorite things about summer. It’s so much better than its frozen counterpart (not that I don’t enjoy and cook with frozen corn, because I definitely do). That said, I don’t love eating corn off the cob. Not really sure why, maybe because it’s rather messy, or I’m just weird. But regardless, I am a bit more inclined to cut mine off the cob before I cook it. This brought about skillet corn – catchy name, I know – which has been enjoyed in my house numerous times already this summer.

This is one of those easy to throw together and easy to match the flavors to what your cooking, type sides. You just kind of adjust the seasoning to match and off you go. It’s a bit reminiscent of the spicy creamy corn I posted about last summer. Only minus all the dairy (thanks Peanut boy). Hubs and I both are very fond of the skillet corn, definitely one worth trying.

Skillet Corn
1 Tbs olive oil
¼ onion, minced
3-4 cloves garlic, minced
2 ears of corn
½ c beer
Dash of rosemary and dill

Heat oil in a medium cast iron skillet over medium heat.

Add the onion and garlic and sauté until the onion starts to brown a little, about 5 minutes.

Cut the corn from the cob. Using a butter knife, scrape the cob into the skillet (you’ll get some juice which you want to add to the dish). Add the corn to the pan and stir.

Reduce the heat and add the beer and spice. Bring to a simmer and cook for about 10 minutes, or until the liquid has cooked off.

3-4 servings – 1 serving (estimated): 100 Calories, 5g Fat, 11g Carbs, 1g Fiber, 2g Protein

